Fees and Course Description

NOTE: The Texas LTC Class IS NOT a Beginners Shooting Class. You MUST KNOW HOW TO OPERATE AND SHOOT A HANDGUN in order to pass the Proficiency Test. DO NOT Register for this Class if you do not know how to do this, instead, make arrangements to the to learn Basic Piston Instruction. The fee for this is $25.

The Concealed Handgun Class fees are $65.

The standard fee for an original LTC is $40 and the standard fee for a renewal of a LTC is $40. However, Texas law provides for some discounts if you meet certain special conditions. A complete list of fees along with the special conditions can be found on the fee schedule here.

An original (first-time) LTC applicant must complete four to six hours of classroom training, pass a written examination and pass a proficiency demonstration (shooting). All classroom and proficiency must be conducted by a LTC instructor certified by DPS. See LTC Qualification Course Requirements (PDF) for the proficiency demonstration requirements.

There are four (4) required topics: Use of Force, Non-Violent Dispute Resolution, Handgun Use, and Safe and Proper Storage of Handguns and Ammunition. Upon successful completion of the training class, the instructor should provide you with a Certificate of Training (LTC-100). You will need to submit this form to DPS to complete your application.